History / Geskiedenis

The town of Robertson, situated in the Western Cape of South Africa, lies between the Langeberg Mountains and the Breede River.  The Breede River Valley is well know for its wines of distinction and the production of a variety of fruit.

The Robertson Bowling Club was proposed to be formed at a meeting that was held for this purpose on Friday 3rd June 1938.  Mr A L Ash was appointed to the chair and Mr Houghton as acting secretary.  Mr Warren proposed that a committee be formed to ascertain cost of the project and also if the Council are prepared to assist with the loan of the ground. The proposal was seconded Mr Ash.  Mr Warren’s proposal was carried and J Blanckenberg, Capt. Musket and acting secretary were instructed to obtain the required information and report to a meeting to be called for the 13th June next.

At the meeting of the 13th June, the tree gentlemen reported that that the estimated cost of the bowling club project would be approximately £500.  Capt. Musket then proposed that a committee be appointed to interview Council requesting that a portion of the Market Square be set aside for the purpose of making a bowling green and that the Council should give the bowling club a loan of £500.  Messrs. Blanckenberg, Musket and Houghton were elected on this committee.

At a meeting held on Monday, 25 July 1939, Mr Swart proposed that the forming of a bowling club now be carried out  and the first office bearers were elected as follows:

President:  Mr W Neethling

Vice President:  Mr S E Warren

Secretary & Treasurer:  Mr J H Houghton

Committee:  Messrs T Tilney, J H Musket, C Kooy, G J Swart, C R Wolhuter, J Blanckenberg, P M Orton, H E Cushing, A L de Jong and Dr. A J Bronkhorst.  As alternative I de V Malherbe, E Barry and P D Geyser.

At the first general meeting of the Robertson Bowling Club held on Friday, 15th November 1940, Mr Neethling gave a short resumé of the steps which had been taken up to the time to bring the club into being.  The constitution of the Worcester Club were adopted for the use of this club with minor changes.  The following office bearers were duly elected for the ensuing club year:

President:  Mr M F Smith

Vice President:  Mr W Neethling

Secretary:  Mr W B White

Treasurer:  Mr L Fick

Green Rangers:  Messrs A M Coetzee and J Blanckenberg

Committee:  Dr. A J Bronkhorst, Mr R L Barry and Mr H E Cushing.

At a meeting on Thursday, 12th February 1942, a club house building committee was elected:  Messrs W Neethling, G Swart, G Siddle and H E Cushing.  At a meeting held on Wednesday, 3rd June 1942, the building committee reported that the cost of the proposed club house would be £134 – being £84 for material and £50 for labour.